Our Services

Philosophy of Care
Roger's House is about living life to the fullest. The experience of a "home away from home" fosters freedom, security, pleasure, and quality of family life. Children, youth and their families living with a progressive life limiting illness are entitled to access comprehensive palliative care services. This timely, holistic, patient and family-focused, culturally sensitive care is enhanced by the experience of Roger's House.

Roger's House Services
Roger's House offers the following services to children and families who are referred to the CHEO Palliative Care Outreach Program:

Respite (family or individual) Care
A child and/or their family are invited to come to Roger's House for support and a time away from home. During this stay the child is assessed and cared for by our interdisciplinary team of healthcare professionals. Immediate family is able to stay with the child and receive support and education in relation to their child's progressive illness. The goal of the stay is to foster the quality of family life.

Acute End of Life Care
For children and families that choose to spend their final days together at Roger's House, End of Life Care is provided. The Registered Nurses and Registered Practical Nurses are supported by the CHEO Palliative Outreach Team in providing pain and symptom management, emotional and spiritual support, as well as assistance with decision making. Every effort is made to ensure ongoing quality of life for the child and the family.

Pain and Symptom Management
Roger's House offers pain and symptom management. Children may come to Roger's House for a short stay for assessment and monitoring by professional staff while medication and treatment changes are implemented.

Transitional Care
Eligible children who have been hospitalized for surgical or medical reasons may transition to home through Roger's House. During this time the family, through professional support and education, will become more comfortable with their child's care and needs.

Grief and Bereavement Support
Families experiencing the loss of a child can receive grief and bereavement support from the CHEO Palliative Care Team and Roger's House. Individual and group counseling is available from trained professionals.

Perinatal Hospice
Perinatal Hospice is an innovative program offered collaboratively by Roger’s House and the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) Palliative Care Outreach Program. It is a model of family centered care for families whose babies are likely to die before, during or shortly after birth. It includes comprehensive support from the time of diagnosis through the birth and death of the infant, and into the postpartum period. Central to the services provided are the development of a specialized birth plan, legacy building and memory making as well as ongoing bereavement support for families and siblings.

Founding Sponsors

Bell Home Hardware Direct Energy Pat Butler Group Great West Life Ottawa Citizen Eugene Melnyk & Family Scotiabank

Nos services

Philosophie de soins
La philosophie de la Maison de Roger est d'assurer le maintien de la qualité de vie pour l'enfant, le jeune et sa famille. Nous souhaitons que le séjour passé dans cet environnement convivial favorise des sentiments de liberté, de sécurité, de plaisir et l'expérience de vie familiale. Les enfants et les familles qui doivent vivre avec une maladie évolutive mortelle limitant l'espérance de vie ont droit d'accéder des services complets de soins palliatifs. Ces soins palliatifs sont holistiques, axés sur l'enfant et sa famille et sont adaptés à leurs besoins uniques.

Les Services offerts par la Maison de Roger
La Maison de Roger offre les services suivants aux enfants et aux familles qui sont référés au Programme de soins palliatifs du CHEO :

Soins de répit (familiaux ou individuels)
Un enfant et/ou sa famille sont invités à la Maison de Roger afin d'y recevoir du soutien et se reposer. Au cours de ce séjour, l'enfant est évalué et soigné par notre équipe interdisciplinaire composée de professionnels des soins de la santé. Les membres de la famille immédiate peuvent séjourner avec l'enfant et recevoir du soutien et de l'éducation au sujet de la maladie évolutive de leur enfant. Ce séjour a pour but de favoriser une vie familiale de qualité.

Soins actifs de fin de vie
Des soins de fin de vie sont offerts aux enfants et aux familles qui optent de passer leurs derniers jours ensemble à la Maison de Roger. Les infirmières et infirmiers autorisés et auxiliaires autorisés sont appuyés par l'équipe des soins palliatifs du CHEO dans le cadre du traitement de la douleur des symptômes, du soutien affectif et spirituel, ainsi que pour aider dans le processus de prise de décision. Nous nous efforçons d'assurer le maintien de la qualité de vie pour l'enfant et sa famille.

Traitement de la douleur et des symptômes
Les enfants peuvent venir à la Maison de Roger pour un court séjour d'évaluation et d'observation par notre équipe interdisciplinaire, au cours duquel des modifications sont apportées aux médicaments et au traitement.

Soins de transition
Les enfants admissibles qui ont été hospitalisés pour des raisons chirurgicales ou médicales peuvent venir séjourner à la Maison de Roger avant de retourner à la maison. Grâce au soutien et à l'éducation, cette période permet à la famille de se familiariser avec les besoins de l'enfant et les soins à lui apporter.

Soutien et soins en cas de deuil
Les familles qui vivent la perte d'un enfant peuvent recevoir du soutien et des soins de deuil de l'équipe des soins palliatifs du CHEO et de la Maison de Roger. Des services de consultation individuels et de groupe sont offerts par des professionnels qualifiés.

Centre de soins palliatifs périnataux
Le service de soins palliatifs périnataux est le résultat d’un programme novateur offert conjointement par la Maison de Roger et l’Équipe de soins palliatifs du Centre hospitalier pour enfant de l’est de l’Ontario (CHEO). Il s’agit d’un modèle de soins spécialement conçus pour les familles d’enfants qui risquent de mourir avant, pendant ou peu après la naissance. Il offre un soutien complet, depuis le diagnostique jusqu’à la naissance et au décès de l’enfant, ainsi que durant la période post-partum. Parmi les principaux services offerts, on compte l’établissement d’un plan de naissance spécialisé, la création d’un legs et de souvenirs et le soutien moral aux familles et aux proches en deuil.

Commanditaires fondateurs

Bell Home Hardware Direct Energy Pat Butler Group Great West Life Ottawa Citizen Eugene Melnyk & Family Scotiabank